We established an Expert Advisory Group (EAG) to guide the development of the He Ara Āwhina framework, following on from the co-define phase for the framework from October 2020 to February 2021.

Since September 2021, this diverse group of experts has shared their expertise and perspectives and guided the co-design of the vision of what a system of services, support, and approaches should look like for people and whānau who experience mental distress, substance use harm, or gambling harm (or a combination of these).

The group includes a Māori EAG which have supported the development of a te ao Māori perspective for the framework.

The draft version of He Ara Āwhina went out for public consultation for six weeks from 8 March to 19 April 2022.

Advice from the EAG and feedback from tāngata whaiora, whānau and organisations has guided us to strengthen and clarify content in the framework.

The final version of He Ara Āwhina was published 30 June 2022.

To learn more about the He Ara Āwhina Expert Advisory Group, download their Terms of Reference.

Meet the Expert Advisors

Sharon Shea (Chair) (she / her)

Sharon is recognised as a leader in the field of health sector strategy and outcomes framework development and is an expert in Results Based Accountability. She has led the design and implementation of outcome frameworks in Aotearoa New Zealand and internationally for over a decade. Sharon has held multiple roles focused on Māori health and oranga improvement, including chairing the Māori Expert Advisory Group for the Health and Disability Systems Review which set up the current health sector reforms. Currently, she is a board member of Te Aka Whai Ora (Māori Health Authority). Sharon also chaired the Expert Advisory Group for the He Ara Oranga wellbeing outcomes framework, which frames the system design work via He Ara Āwhina.

Peter Adams (he / him)

Peter is a Professor at the School of Population Health and Associate Director of the Centre for Addiction Research, University of Auckland. His research interests have focused on primary health interventions for addiction. Peter is a trained clinical psychologist.

Ben Birks Ang (he / him)

Ben brings 20 years of experience in the alcohol and other drugs field. He is currently Deputy Executive Director, Programmes at the NZ Drug Foundation. He also is Chair of the Board of Addiction Practitioners Association Aotearoa New Zealand (DAPAANZ) and works as a contractor and supervisor for youth health and addiction. He is also a clinical governance group member for Te Puna Manawa.

Kelly Feng (she / her)                                                     

Kelly is the National Director for Asian Family Services where she works and advocates for Asian people in New Zealand, particularly to develop more culturally and linguistically appropriate services to meet the needs of Asian communities. Kelly was a medical doctor in China before migrating to Aotearoa New Zealand. Kelly obtained her qualifications in social work in NZ in 2015 and has been working in the mental health and addiction sector and other social sectors for over a decade.

Julia Ioane (she / her)

Julia is Samoan, bilingual, and an Associate Professor in Clinical Psychology at Massey University where she embeds indigenous (Pasifika) world views in her teaching and practice.  As a clinical psychologist, Julia maintains a private psychology practice, working in areas that include child and youth offending mental health. She is also involved in the Royal Commission of Inquiry into Abuse in Care.

Leilani Maraku (she / her)

Leilani is currently the Pouwhakahaere, Te Kete Pounamu National Organisation of Māori With Lived Experience. Leilani brings lived experience and experience as the Manukura (CE) for Mana o te Tangata Trust, a Kaupapa Māori Mental Health and Addiction Peer Support Service in the MidCentral region. She is a strong advocate for inclusion and ensuring the voices of tangata whai ora (people with lived experience of mental health or addiction (or both) and their whānau are being heard. 

Hine Moeke-Murray (she / her)

Hine has been involved in Mental Health and Addiction for the past 13 years where she has been instrumental in reinstating Tikanga Māori as an integral part of health for Māori to ultimately achieve Mana Motuhake. Hine is currently Chief Executive Officer, Te Kupenga Net Trust and CEO, Waharoa (previously Te Kuwatawata).

Mary O’Hagan (she / her)

Mary has lived experience of mental distress and is a former Mental Health Commissioner. She is currently the Executive Director Lived Experience, Department of Health, Victoria, Australia.

Ross Phillips (he / him)                                                  

Ross is currently Business Operations Manager, Pathways. He has worked as a clinician, manager, and sector leader for over twenty years in the mental health and addiction sector. Ross is the Chair of the MHAKPI programme and is a representative on many sector advisory and reference groups.

Dean Rangihuna (he / him)

Dean is currently one of the Directors of Te Pou / Wise Group, Māori Lived Experience Principal Advisor for the Ministry of Health, Board Member of the Suicide Prevention Office and Te Kaihapai / Māori Consumer Advisor for the Canterbury District Health Board Specialist Mental Health Services. He worked on the Mental Health and Addiction inquiry, He Ara Oranga (2018). Dean was a member of the Health and Disability NZ standard committee (2019-2021) and a member of the Health Quality Safety Commission Māori Advisory group around restraint and seclusion inequity for Māori.

Nina Scott (ia / she / her)

Nina (Ngāpuhi, Ngāti Whātua and Waikato) is a public health physician and is passionate about kaupapa Māori approaches to research and improving the health system. Nina is co-chair of Hei Āhuru Mōwai Māori Cancer Leadership and Director of Māori Equity Strategy and Research at Waikato DHB.

Ian Soosay (he / him)

Ian is currently Clinical Director MHA at Counties Manukau DHB and Chair of National Clinical Directors in Mental Health & Addictions. Ian is a trained psychiatrist with a background in epidemiology and mental health policy. Previously he was Deputy Director of Mental Health, Ministry of Health.

MahMah Timoteo (they / she)

MahMah is an Environmental Anthropology PhD Candidate at the University of Canterbury, where they are also a part-time lecturer. MahMah is also Co-Chair of Qtopia and Rainbow Advisor of Moana Vā. Both Qtopia and Moana Vā are LGBTQIA+ organisations  in Ōtautahi Christchurch that support young rainbow people. 

Last modified: