The Initial Commission established an Expert Advisory Group in April 2020 to provide specialist advice and recommendations in the conceptual framework phase of this work. The experts shared their expertise and perspectives to help develop and provide comment on the conceptual framework. Their work was completed in October 2020.

Meet the Expert Advisors

Sharon Shea (Chair)

Sharon is recognised as a leader in the field of health sector strategy, outcomes framework development, and has held roles focused on Māori health improvement. Sharon was also part of the Māori Expert Advisory Group for the Health and Disability Systems Review, and is an expert in Results Based Accountability.

Michelle Levy

Michelle has expertise in health and wellbeing research, a strategic focus on how to ensure Māori world views, aspirations, and voices are brought to fore in research and evaluation, alongside how this sits within the broader policy context.

Atawhai Tibble

Atawhai is a Chief Advisor at the Social Wellbeing Agency. He led the development of Te Kupenga – the first survey of Māori wellbeing, and interests include the economics of Māori wellbeing.

Kelly Pope

Kelly was an Initial Mental Health and Wellbeing Commission Board member, and provides significant leadership in networks with people of lived experience of mental health and addiction.

Mary O'Hagan

Mary has lived experience of mental distress and is a former Mental Health Commissioner. She is currently Manager Mental Wellbeing at Te Hiringa Hauora / Health Promotion Agency.

Richard Hamblin

Richard is the Director of Health Quality Intelligence at the Health Quality & Safety Commission. He holds expertise in performance measures, and recently led a new approach for outcome measurement for the health sector.

Maree Brown

Maree is the Director of the Child Wellbeing Unit in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. Her team led the development of New Zealand’s first Child and Youth Wellbeing Strategy, including its Outcomes Framework.

Stefano Cali

Stefano is a psychiatrist working at the early intervention psychosis service at Counties Manukau DHB. He draws connections between poverty and psychosis in his work.

Julia Ioane

Julia is a senior lecturer and researcher in clinical psychology at Massey University.  She also maintains a private psychology practice working in the areas of child and youth mental health.

Arran Culver

Arran is the Chief Clinical Advisor in the Mental Health and Addiction Directorate, Ministry of Health. Prior to this role, he was a child and adolescent psychiatrist.

Rachel Haggerty

Rachel is currently General Manager, Planning and Funding, Capital & Coast District Health Board. Rachel also led the development of He Tangata, the 2016 Ministry of Health outcomes framework for mental health and wellbeing.

Ross Bell

Ross is the Executive Director of the Drug Foundation. He has been there since 2004.

Dr Maria Baker Ngāpuhi, Te Rarawa

Maria brings a 25 year history in the Māori health sector, with a specific interest in Māori mental health, having completed her doctoral study in Māori  experience of mental illness and mental health services.  Maria is the Chief Executive of Te Rau Ora (formerly Te Rau Matatini), one of the lead agencies to improve Māori health and wellbeing.

Lynette Hutson

Lynette is the National Director of Addictions at the Salvation Army. She is also co-chair of the National Committee of Addiction Treatment.

Terms of Reference

To learn more about the Initial Commission's Expert Advisory Group, download their Terms of Reference:


Last modified: