Recent changes to our board

Te Hiringa Mahara has been governed by an active board since being formed in February 2021. There have been two recent changes. 

Having been on the board since our establishment in February 2021, Dr Jemaima Tiatia's term has come to an end. Board chair Hayden Wano has expressed his thanks to Jemaima for her contribution to the board, acknowledging her thought leadership, expertise and dedication.  

Prior to joining Te Hiringa Mahara board Jemaima contributed to the mental wellbeing of Aotearoa through her work with the Inquiry into Mental Health and Addiction in 2018, and the subsequent ground-breaking He Ara Oranga report. It is through Jemaima's significant contribution over our first two years that we are in the strong position we are today. 

A new member has been appointed to the board. Dr Barbara Disley is joining the board for a three-year term. Many of you will know Barbara from the significant roles she has had in the mental health and addiction sector over the years, including the Inquiry into Mental Health and Addiction in 2018. We will welcome Barbara at our next meeting.  

The role of the Board is to provide strategic guidance and oversight of our work and make sure that we perform our functions effectively and in a financially-responsible manner. Up to seven members are appointed by the Governor-General, under the Crown Entities Act 2004.  

Meet our board members