Kāhui Matanga Expert Advisory Group

We established an Expert Advisory Group (EAG) to guide the development of the He Ara Āwhina framework, following on from the co-define phase for the framework from October 2020 to February 2021.

This diverse group of experts shared their expertise and perspectives and guided the co-design of the vision of what a system of services, support, and approaches should look like for people and whānau who experience mental distress, substance use harm, or gambling harm (or a combination of these).

The group included a Māori EAG which supported the development of a te ao Māori perspective for the framework.

The draft version of He Ara Āwhina went out for public consultation for six weeks from 8 March to 19 April 2022.

Advice from the EAG and feedback from tāngata whaiora, whānau and organisations guided us to strengthen and clarify content in the framework.

The final version of He Ara Āwhina was published 30 June 2022. Find more information about the He Ara Āwhina framework here.

To learn more about the He Ara Āwhina Expert Advisory Group, download their Terms of Reference below:

He Ara Āwhina Expert Advisory Group Terms of Reference [PDF, 246 KB]

He Ara Āwhina Expert Advisory Group Terms of Reference [DOCX, 87 KB]

The Expert Advisors were

  • Sharon Shea (Chair) (she / her)
  • Peter Adams (he / him)
  • Ben Birks Ang (he / him)
  • Kelly Feng (she / her)
  • Julia Ioane (she / her)
  • Leilani Maraku (she / her)
  • Hine Moeke-Murray (she / her)
  • Mary O’Hagan (she / her)
  • Ross Phillips (he / him)    
  • Dean Rangihuna (he / him)
  • Nina Scott (ia / she / her)
  • Ian Soosay (he / him)
  • MahMah Timoteo (they / she)